What Horse Back Riding Has Taught Me…


 

On my 38th B-day (September 29, 2011) my husband and I made reservations to go horse back riding. So, we decided to make reservations at the Rocking J Ranch in High Ridge, Missouri.

Prior to writing this blog post, I had not experienced  riding a horse before. In fact, when I was ten years old, I attempted to ride a pony, but I was too afraid to get on the pony.

For my 38th birthday, I thought I would do something I have never done before, like; ” GO HORSE BACK RIDING.”  On  October 1, 2011, my husband and I arrived at the Rocking J Ranch.

As we arrived I noticed that the horses were all lined up and waiting for riders. The ranger asked me if I wanted a helmet. This is when I started to get a little nervous.

So, I thought to my self, I did not come this far to let this fear stop me from doing something I’ve never done before. So I put on the helmet and right after I put on a helmet, one of the horses began to go wild.

The horse started making funny noises and he fell on the ground. He scared the crap out of all the riders that were waiting to go for a horse back ride. The kids that were waiting to ride started to cry and the other horses started to get excited.

This is when I started to wonder if  I really want to do this and I was more comfortable with wearing a  helmet after seeing the horse go wild.

After I got pass my feelings and watched my husband climb on the horse, I had enough courage to ride. I climbed on the horse and as I was climbing on the horse, ranger began to explain to me how to guide the horse.

She began to explain that I must guide the horse by pulling the reign to the right or left, not up or down. Then she told me to give him a kick to signal him to go.

Now, that was too many instructions for me and I started thinking, to myself, I just forgot what she said,lol.  As she finished her instructions, I heard a little girl scream. The little girl wasn’t holding on tight and the horse moved and she fell off her horse. Then my horse starting moving forward and I yelled, ” He’s moving!”

My ranger, said, You tell him where to go, don’t let him guide you. That’s when I remembered what she told me to do in order guide my horse.

Seeing that little girl fall, motivated me to stay in control of my emotions and pay attention to the horse. I was ready to ride.

The Ride around the Arena

We headed to the arena to practice  guiding the horses. I must say that it was an empowering experience, once we began to ride the horses around the area. After about five minute of riding around the arenas, the ranger, asked me how did it feel riding the horse? I replied, it’s like driving a car without the steering wheel. In fact, I was quite comfortable with the horse and I felt in tune with my horse.

After going around the arena several times, the ranger asked if we were ready to go on the trail. I was comfortable with riding in the arena, however, I knew I did not come to ride a horse in circles around an enclosed arena for 1-hours

As we headed down the trails and through the woods, I felt in control of the horse. It was a smooth, relaxing and peaceful ride through the trails.

 

What I learned while on the horse back riding trail

As I was riding the horse, I began to think about how life is like riding a horse, you must guide your life with much focus. In fact, if you are not careful and you lose control of your thoughts or feelings, you could crash or get out of your purpose.

What happened when I lost control

We began to go down a narrow hill. I failed to guide the horse to the right, he went left and we crashed into a tree. I am laughing as I write this post, however, it was not funny when I thought I was going to fall off of my horse. I was so glad that I had a helmet on at that moment.

After crashing into the tree, I was more focused and paid more attention to the direction that I was going. In fact, if I noticed that the horse was gearing to the right, I would give his bit a tug to the left and he immediately obeyed.

We were going down hill!

The ranger gave us a lesson about horses

As we were almost done with the horse back ride, she began to tell us that horses are a lot like humans, with the exception of their eye sight. She said that their vision is not as good as ours and this is why we must guide them very carefully.

She also gave us a lesson in troll-oping and she modeled how to be in control of the horse. My horse started moving faster and she told me to not pass the other horses, because it would make the horses up set.

So I thought, “Oh, like humans…. horses are competitive too!’

In summary, It was a great Journey and as I enter my 38th year in this Journey called life, I will carefully guide my life with my words, with much focus and periodically go on horse back rides to practice self control. Moreover, focus on being more in control of my emotions. Furthermore, I really enjoyed the quiet and peaceful horse back ride with my husband. I guess now I am officially a cow girl!

Me and my Hubby....

 

As I end this blog post, I want to share with you some health benefits of horse back riding….

According to Jacobs Ladder Riding.com, horse back riding is very therapeutic and the health benefits include:

Physical benefits:

  • Improved appetite and digestion
  • Increased range of motion of the joints
  • Improved respiration and circulation
  • Sensory Integration

Psychological Benefits

  • Improved self confidence
  • Increased interest in one’s life
  • Expansion of focus of control
  • Development of patience
  • Increased interest in the outside world
  • Emotional Control and self-discipline

Thanks for reading my blog post and I hope that it has been an inspiration to you. I look forward to your insight about this post.

Enjoying this Journey Called Life,

Shiketa

2 responses to “What Horse Back Riding Has Taught Me…

  1. Love this blog! I’ve been riding most of my life, so you made me smile and brought back some great memories of really fantastic experiences I’ve had. I’m glad you had a good time!

    It’s so true about the healing/health benefits of riding. There are therapeutic riding centers that work with physically and mentally challenged people – young and old – and riding has proven to help them on many levels.

Leave a Reply

